Week 7 – Visualization

To visualize is to create a clearly defined mental image of your future, much like an architectural blueprint of a structure that is yet to be constructed.

In this process, you “see the end before a single step is taken,” as described by Charles Haanel in Part Seven of the Master Key system.

Part 1: Visualization

Before planting seeds in the field, a farmer knows what the harvest is to be. The end is within sight before growing season has begun. This is visualization.

Part 2: Manifestation

The fields are then tended to with care. The seed is not disturbed. It is left to root so the bounty can take shape, but the farmer pays close attention to external stimuli; adding more water to the soil as needed, and clearing the field of weeds which can compete for root space. This is the manifestation of visualization in action.

Part 3: Materialization

At the end of the season, the farmer reaps the benefits of a successful growing season which could not have been accomplished without the early visualization and pre-planning. This final stage is known as materialization.

This process happens every day whether you want it to or not.

With clear mental images and concentrated thought, you can be whatever you will to be. A perfect example of this happened in my own backyard – literally!

A personal story about visualization…

pergolaA photo from my vision board used as inspiration for our backyard.

My husband and I purchased a newly constructed home a few years ago. The builder placed sod around the property, but nothing more. There before us was a tabula rasa, a blank slate of green in desperate need of landscaping.

At first, I had no clear image of how the backyard should look; what the end product should be. For months I thought about how our family would like to use that space. In my mind, I drew many pictures but they were fuzzy. I had ideas, but nothing concrete…until one morning when I awoke early and there before me I saw it all!

I had in my mind a clear mental image of how the backyard should look. I could see the deck, the patio, the fireplace, the outdoor kitchen, the pergola with a sitting area, the focal features in the garden…it was real in my head and I felt in my heart that it was real.

I visualized our children growing older and what their needs would be over the year. I visualized how the trees, shrubs and plants would look as they took root and flourished, and how their colours would change with each passing season. I visualized where the sun would shine as we enjoyed dinner outside with our extended family. I visualized early morning coffees outside and evening cocktails under the pergola with the ambiance of chirping birds. I visualized so much more, thoughts beyond what I can explain in one blog.

From all of these visions, I created drawings of the yard. They are blueprints showing the dimensions, materials and colours of what is to be constructed. These are the drawings that will lead to the manifestation of my vision.

This is where I am now with the project, the manifestation stage. I am sourcing suppliers, selecting materials, making adjustments as needed based on the curvature of the land, by-laws, etc. This is me tending to the soil, just as the farmer did with the crop.

Next, which will be in Spring 2017, will come the part I look forward to most…Part 3…materialization!

Seeing a project through from beginning to end is rewarding. Being able to live in what was once a vision in your mind is powerful and it applies to all aspects of life, not just landscaping.

I think the greatest reward is pride in a job well done. My ideal future is different than yours. My ideal backyard is different than yours. We are unique and so too are our goals, passions and plans, but if you put your mind to something, give it your all and see it through to the end, that is when the magic happens!

Go out there, live life to the fullest and make every day matter. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Week 7 – Visualization

Leave a comment